MENDELSSOHN Songs Without Words, Book 1 Op 19

Songs Without Words (Lieder ohne Worte) is a series of short lyrical piano pieces by the Romantic composer Felix Mendelssohn, written between 1829 and 1845.The eight volumes of Songs Without Words, each consisting of six "songs" (Lieder), were written at various points throughout Mendelssohn's life, and were published separately. The piano became increasingly popular in Europe during the early nineteenth century, when it became a standard item in many middle-class households. The pieces are within the grasp of pianists of various abilities and this undoubtedly contributed to their popularity. This great popularity has caused many critics to under-rate their musical value. The first volume was published by Novello in London (1832) as Original Melodies for the Pianoforte, but the later volumes used the title Songs Without Words.


Book 1, Op. 19b (1829–1830) No. 1 Andante con moto in E major No. 2 Andante espressivo in A minor No. 3 Molto allegro e vivace in A major No. 4 Moderato in A major No. 5 Poco agitato in F-sharp minor No. 6 Andante sostenuto in G minor ("Venezianisches Gondellied" [Venetian Boat Song] ) The titles attributed to some of the Songs below were given by Mendelssohn himself. Other fanciful titles were given to certain of the pieces by later publishers but have no authority and do not reflect any intention of the composer.

VIDEO: "Songs Without Words, Book 1, Op.19" by Martin Jones 

Popular Posts